Progress Report: The Mirror

Greetings!  This past week has been slightly slower on social activity, so I’ve been hard at work writing my children’s novel The Mirror.  I’m excited with how it is turning out so far!

The oddity (for me) in writing this type of story is that I am constantly cutting out details that I’m used to writing–then again, I’m used to writing 100,000-word paperweights.  There’s also the unfamiliar act of writing for the purpose of being, for lack of a better word, cute.  Maybe it’s because the last children’s novels I read were Lady in the Water and The Wide Window, but I feel forced into trying to write the novel in this cutesy, clever way that is endearing and captivating a la Lemony Snicket.  And that style of narration just isn’t working for this book.

Otherwise, I think the novel is coming along quite well.  I have descriptions of the illustrations, and I even know how what I aesthetically want the book to look like!  Now if only I were an illustrator…

Leave a Reply

