Website Preview!

I promised this last week and spent more of my time regaling the awesomeness of Neil Gaiman rather than fulfilling my promise. But belated is better than never, right? :P

I’m so excited to be able to post some shots of the website. It’s taken me months to put together, mostly because I’m super picky. Here’s the first thing you’ll see when you visit the site itself:

I’ve long been a fan of splash pages as an instrument of setting the mood of a website in the most minimalistic way possible. So this splash page is my creative attempt to have some fun with my name while playing around with a theme that is prominent in all of my books. And what do you know? Books come from trees too!

The homepage itself features an introduction from me and a handsome navigation bar to the left, where visitors can take a gander through the long and short fiction that I’ve presented on the website. There’s information about yours truly too.

Here is example of just one of the pages within the full-length fiction section. You’ll notice that the style is consistent with the homepage but the colour scheme is immediately different; I wanted to encapsulate the mood and tone of each piece of fiction at the visual level.  In fact, coming up with the respective colour schemes was the most enjoyable aspect of this project and I’m really pleased with the results! There are other aspects that are unique to each page within the site as well, but I won’t give those away just yet.

While the website is a showcase for my writing, I made sure not to stop with just the books themselves. I spent a lot of time going through all of my notes to summarize key facts, characters and events so that I could share with you all of the things that make each world unique and exciting. You’ll find a lot on the site about the worlds and mythologies where the stories exist, with many plans to expand upon this information in the future.

And, naturally, I had to give you some handy mini-menus to help you navigate through all of that info!

So there you have it! I’m doing a few final tweaks to the website over the next week, but I anticipate the full launch by the end of the month! Yay!! :D

One thought on “Website Preview!

Leave a Reply

