Progress Report: The Mirror First Draft Complete!

I’ve been slowly working on the first draft of The Mirror for some time now, tinkering away in little bits to ensure that the story remains cute but simplistic for the intended audience.  I knew what the ending of the story would be before I wrote it (as it was inspired by a real conversation); it was just a matter of making sure that the style was there to give the story and characters plenty of personality.

It’s amazing what you can do when you’re stuck on a flight for 12 hours! I was able to complete my first draft of The Mirror earlier this month, and handed it to my friend sitting next to me for a first read, which was met with a positive reaction and some helpful conversation on focusing the story and the dialogue.

I’ve read on many writers’ websites that milestones should always be celebrated, and I consider this to be no exception. It’s been over two years since I’ve completed a draft of a novel of any length, so I’m really proud of myself for getting this one done so quickly. I promise I’ll get back to the Great Mages eventually! :P

Overall, I think that The Mirror is oozing with potential.  I’m very very excited about the story and, for the first time ever, I think that my own writing is actually cute. :P

YAY!! :D

Leave a Reply

